About Us Introduction

The Faculty of Science was originally established in 1966 as the Faculty of Science and Arts. At that time, it offered bachelor’s degree in 6 curricula; namely, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Language, Social Science, and Humanity. In 1981, Faculty Science and Arts was renamed as “Faculty of Science” after the department of Language and Social Science were transferred to their faculties. At present, the Faucultu of Science consists of 13 departments, namely:

Department of Applied Radiation and Isotopes
pDepartment of Biochemistry
Department of Botany
Department of Chemistry
Department of Computer Science
iDepartment of Earth Science
Department of Genetics
Department of Mathematics
Department of Microbiology
Department of Physics
Department of Statistics
Department of Zoology
  Department of Material Science

There are 16 curricula for bachelor’s degree, 15 for master’s degree, and 8 for doctoral degree. The Faculty of Science also provides a postgraduate curriculum of inter-department in Bioscience. In the near future, Materials Science will be also offered as an inter-departmental curriculum.

Full time academic staff members include 3 full professors, 71 associate professors, 69 assistant professors and 138 instructors. Of this staff, 150 members have doctoral degrees, 126 have master’s degrees and 5 have bachelor’s degrees. The Faculty has a total enrollment of approximately 2,463 students in 2006, which includes 1,879 undergraduate students and 584 in postgraduate programs.

© CopyRight 2009 Faculty of Science,KASETSART UNIVERSITY
50 Pahonyothin Chatuchak BANGKOK,THAILAND 10900 Tel. 02- 562-5444 , 0-2562-5555 Fax. 02-942-8290